CBL continue to sponsor  the MCA “D” division 40 over League Tournament 2022

Ceylon Biscuits Limited (CBL Group) the pioneer food manufacturer, who has won many accolades during the recent past will continue to sponsor  the Mercantile Cricket Association (MCA)  “D” division 40 over League Cricket Tournament 2022 for the second year running.

The tournament which is in progress is conducted with  09 teams, pooled into 02 groups  contested for the  “CBL – Munchee”  Trophy.

The participating teams

Group “A” : AIA Insurance,  Airport & Aviation Services,  Nawaloka Hospitals & National Development Bank (NDB)

Group “B” : Delmage Group, Melwire Rolling, David Pieris Group “A”, Hemas Holdings & Allianz Insurance.

Previously, Maliban Biscuits won the CBL Munchee Trophy, beating Nawaloka Hospitals by 06 runs.

The tournament is conducted in 02 stages consisting  23 matches including the Final.

Special Awards on offer are: for the Best Batsman,  Best Bowler, Man of the Final & Man of the Series.

The Player Control Team : (PCT)  All matches will be officiated by MCA appointed Match Referee,  on the field Umpires are assigned by the Association of Professional Cricket Umpires (APCU) & the score board Scorers assigned by Sri Lanka Cricket Scorers.

The official match ball :  Matches up to the Final is  played with the Royal Malik / The World of Cricket – Red Ball with the MCA Logo.

At the moment the tournament has completed its league stage and the  following 08 teams have advanced to the knock-out stage.

From Group “A” unbeaten Nawaloka Hospitals followed by  Airport & Aviation Services,  NDB & AIA Insurance;  From Group “B” : Unbeaten, Allianz Insurance followed by Melwire Rolling, Hemas Holdings & David Pieris Group “A”.

The Quarter Finals will be worked off this week-end, 22nd & 23rd January, the Semi Finals on 29th January & the Final at the MCA Grounds on 05th of February 2022.

The above picture shows, Marketing Manager, CBL Munchee,  Romesh Jayathillake (2nd from right) handing over the sponsorship package to MCA President, Nalin Wickramasinghe  (3rd from left)

Others in the picture from left to right : MCA Assistant Treasurer & Chairman Cricket Development Committee, Sanjaya Wijesinghe, MCA General Secretary, Tarindra Kaluperuma & Trade Marketing Manager CBL Munchee, Athula Wellagiriya.