Colombo Malay Cricket Club to celebrate 150th anniversary

The Colombo Malay Cricket Club (CMCC) is the oldest cricket club in Sri Lanka being established in 1872. The CMCC is proud to announce that the first Ceylonese cricket club in the country will be celebrating its 150th anniversary in the year 2022. To mark this momentous occasion the CMCC has organized a series of sports activities throughout the year.

“The anniversary celebrations will kick-off with the launch of the First Day Cover to mark CMCC’s 150th inauguration on 19th March 2022. This will be followed by a cricket encounter between the CMCC and Sri Lanka Cricket Board President’s XI. The highlight of the celebrations will be a commemorative Charity Dinner on 26th March 2022 where the keynote speaker will be Sri Lanka’s cricket legend and former MCC Chairman Kumar Sangakkara,” said Rizwan Badoordeen President of the CMCC at a press conference held at the ‘Padang’ on Tuesday (4).

“We have also lined up several tournaments throughout the year such as an invitation 6-a-side Cricket Tournament, Hockey and Netball carnival, Sepak Takraw and Badminton Open invitation tournaments and a rugby competition,” he added.

CMCC Club Captain Rinaldin Rahaman speaking on the occasion said the main objective of holding a Cricket Charity dinner is to raise funds to buy cricket equipment to junior and senior school teams. “We have identified two rural schools in the country. As the leading cricket club in the island, we want to give back to the cricket community,” he said.

An Invitation 6-a-side Cricket Tournament will be held in May. “It is basically a fellowship event where we are going to invite about 10 Tier A teams. Since the CMCC is celebrating 150 years we want to foster goodwill and camaraderie among the premier clubs like SSC, NCC, Bloomfield and CCC. There may be national players joining in for this Tournament and even our past Test captains/players may represent their clubs,” said Rahaman.

A Badminton Tournament is to be held in June and this will be conducted at the Sugathadasa Indoor Stadium. It will be an open event for Men and Women to participate in different age categories. Attractive prizes will be on offer.

Pic Caption

(From left) Hussain Jayah (Vice President CMCC), Roshan Allang (General Secretary, CMCC), Rizwan Badoordeen (President, CMCC), Rilwan Lantra (President, SLMA), Rinaldin Rahaman (Club Captain, CMCC), Rilwan Careem (General Secretary, SLMA) at the press conference held at the Padang on Tuesday (4)